what to wear fall edition | westchase family photographer

Look at me! Two blog posts in less than a month?!? I’m totally on a roll.

I’m an excellent opinion giver.  All the time, but especially if you ask.  And lots of people are asking.  WHAT SHOULD WE WEAR for our family photos?!?!?!? It’s stressful. I get it.  And I was stressed (cause even photographers need family photos–so they can be in the picture!) in a big way about what my family would wear.  So, here’s what I did.

First I complained.

what to wear

Then I got to work.  Shopping is work.

1. Consider the setting.  Where are we shooting?  In a field?  In the concrete jungle?  A park?  The setting should be your first consideration.  You don’t want to be in some fabulous stilettos in a field with knee high weeds.  Not only is that dangerous but you won’t match your surroundings.  Consider fun cowboy boots or a more (gasp) sensible (which is NOT synonymous with ugly, contrary to popular belief) flat.  On the other hand, if we’re going to be hanging out in a more urban setting (The University of Tampa or Ybor city, for example) you can be fancier.  Wear the fab shoes.

2. Pick colors.  A neutral or two and a pop of color or two if you’re really brave and an excellent coordinator.  We are doing our family photos in Ybor city (super urban, concrete jungle) so I went with a black, grey and red palette.  Blacks and greys and jeans being our neutrals and red, the POP of color.

3.  Pick your outfit first.  You know I’m a firm believer in mom being in the picture.  If you missed that post you can find it here and another one here.  And there is no doubt in my mind that for every mom reading this, you are the hardest one to find the perfect outfit for.  You want it to be flattering and make you look 10 pounds thinner and fit perfectly.  PICK YOUR OUTFIT FIRST.  Build everyone else’s around you.  I went with a ruffly (yes it’s a word) black top from Loft (I love Loft for great casual but not too casual wear at a reasonable price and they are ALWAYS having a sale), some grey skinnies and my VERY VERY FAVORITE red shoes.

4.  There’s no particular order after you get your outfit.  Husband and kids can all be lumped together.  I went with my kids first.  Grabbed a cute plaid long sleeved button down in the black/ grey/ red combo for my 5 year old and a cute red tie.  Throw on some jeans and some urban sneaks (I may put some red laces in them) and he’s set.

My little girl is going to be our POP of color which, if you know her, is totally appropriate.  She’s wearing red.  A bright red dress with black patent leather shoes (that I have yet to find) and a black bow.  I was going to put her in a polka dot number then my bestie (yes, I ask for advice/ opinions too) reminded me we wouldn’t have a strong color pop if I did that.

And the husband.  He’s got great jeans.  And black shoes for days.  I grabbed a grey button down from Express (where I haven’t shopped in easily at least a decade… ) and a tie.  But he may even wear a tie he already has, not sure.  Husbands always get the shaft when it comes to new clothes don’t they?!?

5.  Now, you may be saying ‘ties’? Really Corey?  Ties?  Don’t worry.  We’re not tucking in.  We’re rolling up sleeves, and we’re not buttoning top buttons.  The perfect balance of an accessory that works but doesn’t look like we’re trying too hard.  Accessories are so important in photos.  They draw the eye in.  Layers are great too.  Only we live in Florida, it’s hot and I sweat like a pig.  So we’re skipping layers.  Hair bows, necklaces, ties, fabulous earrings, pick the shoes with the details on them instead of the plain ones.

And so, without further adieu.  An iphone picture of our outfits, laid out on my unmade bed.  I’m fancy.

what to wear

 

And I’m spent. 🙂

There’s another post I wrote on what to wear, here. Check it out 🙂

Happy Thursday y’all!

 

This entry was posted in because I said so, photo fun, Tampa Family Photographer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment